NRCDV Logo
  • Adult Children Exposed to Domestic Violence
  • Runaway & Homeless Youth Toolkit
  • Prevent Intimate Partner Violence
  • Violence Against Women Resource Library
  • Domestic Violence Awareness Project
  • Building Comprehensive Solutions
  • National Resource Center on Domestic Violence

Trainings

NRCDV provides training, both in-person and web-based, to meet the needs of state domestic violence coalitions, their member domestic violence programs and other allied organizations seeking to end domestic violence. Training is provided on an array of topics including, but not limited, to advocating for victims in contact with an abusive partner or ex-partner, conflict resolution within domestic violence shelter programs, reducing rules in shelter, enhanced services to children and youth exposed to domestic violence, social media engagement, economic empowerment strategies, and effective program management, effective policy advocacy approaches, social and racial justice and more.

Below is a listing of trainings and events in which NRCDV is hosting or participating. Click the read more option to view full detailed information.

DVAM Social Media Campaigns

#ThisIsDV (Facebook campaign)
Recognizing domestic violence is critical if we are to take action to address and prevent it. Launched in 2016, NRCDV’s #ThisIsDV campaign continues this year to elevate the voices of survivors, validate & name their experiences, and raise awareness on the multifaceted nature of domestic violence. Like @NRCDV and join the conversation on Facebook at #DVAM2017 #ThisIsDV

#ImAnAdvocate (Twitter campaign)
NRCDV builds on the 2016 #WhyICare campaign to ask: Why are you an advocate? and/or Why did you become an advocate? Share your inspiration here and #ImAnAdvocate. Follow @NationalDVAM and join the conversation on Twitter at #DVAM2017 #ImAnAdvocate.

Upcoming DVAM Events

09/18 DVAM Countdown: Last Minute Tips and Ideas (Webinar)

The DVAM 2017 Toolkit is here! Domestic Violence Awareness Month (DVAM) 2017 is just a few weeks away! Join us to learn how free online tools available from national partners National Resource Center on Domestic Violence and NO MORE can support your efforts to develop successful events and campaigns. Participants are encouraged to share their own strategies and tips for pulling together high-impact DVAM initiatives with limited resources.

When: 2:00 – 3:00pm Eastern / 1:00 – 2:00pm / 11:00am- 12:00pm Pacific
 

10/03

 

National Call of Unity: Why I’m an Advocate (Teleconference)

Every year the National Call of Unity kicks off Domestic Violence Awareness Month by offering an opportunity to mourn, celebrate, and connect with advocates from national, state, and community-based organizations, governmental agencies, allied movements, survivors and their family and friends. Speakers will offer their perspectives on the power of advocacy to create social transformation and will share their own stories of inspiration to do this work.

When: 3:00 – 3:45pm Eastern / 2:00 – 3:45pm / 12:00- 12:45pm Pacific
 

10/10

 

Storytelling for Social Change (Webinar)

This webinar will introduce best practices for trauma-informed storytelling to help build program capacity to incorporate storytelling into prevention and awareness-raising efforts during Domestic Violence Awareness Month and beyond.

When: 3:00 – 4:30pm Eastern / 2:00 – 3:30pm Central / 12:00 – 1:30pm Pacific
 

10/17

 

Meaningful Collaboration (Twitter Chat)

Help us celebrate the value, strength and perseverance of advocates in the efforts to end gender-based violence. Reflecting on the invaluable role of advocates in supporting survivors as they move along their healing journey. Follow @NationalDVAM and join the conversation on Twitter and Facebook at #DVAM2017 #MeaningfulCollaboration

When: 3:00 – 4:00pm Eastern / 2:00 – 3:00pm Central / 12:00 – 1:00pm Pacific
 

10/24

 

Stories of Transformation Facebook Live party: I’m an Advocate

Join us as we celebrate the value, strength and perseverance of the advocates who work to end gender-based violence. We will highlight those who shared their story in our NRCDV Radio podcast series and #ImAnAdvocate Twitter campaign, while reflecting on the invaluable role of advocates in supporting survivors as they move along their healing journey. Hold your own local celebration and create and post your videos and photos to @NRCDV #ImAnAdvocate #DVAM2017.

When: 3:00 Eastern / 2:00 Central / 12:00 Pacific

If you have questions or concerns regarding a training please contact us at 1-800-537-2238 or email at nrcdvTA@nrcdv.org.